Movie & Music: The Hateful Eight

Movie Facts:

Writer: Quentin Tarantino

Director: Quentin Tarantino

Starring: Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh

Composer: Ennio Morricone

Featuring: The White Stripes, David Hess & Roy Orbison

Budget: $62,000,000

Length: 187 minutes

Rating: 18

UK DVD & Blu-Ray Release: 9th May 2016

On the 9th May 2016 Quentin Tarantino’s new movie The Hateful Eight arrived in stores on DVD and Blu-Ray.

I bought the soundtrack about a day before I went to see the movie and it goes without saying that it made me very excited to see what Quentin Tarantino had in store for us.

On it’s own the soundtrack is incredible. This is the first Tarantino film where there is a complete soundtrack which was composed, orchestrated and conducted by Ennio Morricone. The main theme tune is so creepy and sly, and is played on two bassoons which create the heavy and severe tone.

The film itself is very good indeed. It is very gory (I’m talking brain-splatteringly gory), but if you aren’t a fan of gore, you can just cover your eyes like I did as this film is not to be missed. There’s even a total surprise addition to the cast towards the end of the film that I was NOT expecting. I did find it weird though, that there were very few scene locations, but I think that is half of the idea. If you are a Quentin Tarantino fan already then you are in for a treat.

As for the presence of the soundtrack in the movie – it was hardly noticeable, but I think that is because I was so engrossed with the plot and trying to figure out who poisoned the coffee. It is a good sign if the soundtrack doesn’t stand out to you – that means it is working with the visuals and creating an atmosphere. If I watched it again I won’t need to concentrate as much, so I will probably notice the soundtrack more.

Trailer:

 

Overall it’s a good movie, very good in fact. Quentin Tarantino has delivered yet another entertaining, qwerky film for our enjoyment, and to make it even better is that two geniuses (Tarantino & Morricone) have come together to create something very psychotic and unique.

Leave a Reply

